Jay Z and Issa Rae snag Peabody Awards for their powerful works

Farida Dawkins April 20, 2018
Jay Z and Issa Rae

Star and creator of HBO series “Insecure” has just been bestowed with the prominent Peabody Award.

Rapper Jay Z also received the award for his six-part documentary series, “Time: The Kalief Browder Story.”

“Insecure” centers around the happenings of the main characters, Molly played by Yvonne Orji and Issa played by Issa Rae. Their flaws and the racial and social situations they experience are relatable and comical to audiences.

The show was formed in 2016; Rae told The Guardian, “I just wanted to see my friends and I reflected on television, in the same way that white people are allowed, and which nobody questions.”

Jay Z’s rousing documentary about Kalief Browder highlighted mental illness and the U.S.’s prison and justice systems.

In 2010, Browder, a Bronx teen at the time, was accused and arrested on the suspicion of having stolen a backpack.

Browder was innocent however was placed in Riker’s Island without a trial or a chance to post bail. He spent three years in jail including time in solitary confinement.

Browder finally left Riker’s with deep psychological scars of his ordeal.

Three years after his release, in 2015, Browder committed suicide in the Bronx apartment he shared with his mother.

Jay Z iterated through his Twitter page, “Kalief is a prophet. His story will save lives. You guys watching and your compassion made this happen. Thank you.”

The Peabody Award, formulated in 1940 is named after American philanthropist George Peabody.

The award recognizes “stories that engage viewers as citizens as well as consumers. By recognizing specific programming, the Peabody Awards spotlight instances of how electronic media can teach, expand our horizons, defend the public interest, or encourage empathy with others. Such excellent stories exist across genres and media types, and across regions and borders.”

Last Edited by:Ismail Akwei Updated: April 20, 2018


Must Read

Connect with us

Join our Mailing List to Receive Updates