10 colonial flags imposed on African states before independence

Etsey Atisu July 23, 2019
The flag of Tanganyika between 1916 and 1961 | CRW Flags

Tanganyika (Tanzania)

Tanganyika was a sovereign state, comprising the mainland part of present-day Tanzania, that existed from 1961 until 1964. It first gained independence from the United Kingdom on 9 December 1961 as a state headed by Queen Elizabeth II before becoming a republic within the Commonwealth of Nations a year later.

After signing the Articles of Union on 22 April 1964 and passing an Act of Union on 25 April, Tanganyika officially joined with the People’s Republic of Zanzibar and Pemba to form the United Republic of Tanganyika and Zanzibar on Union Day, 26 April 1964. The new state changed its name to the United Republic of Tanzania within a year.

Image result for tanzania flag
Current Tanzania flag


Must Read

Connect with us

Join our Mailing List to Receive Updates