African territories that are under tight European control

Adom Tabbey-Botchwey Jul 8, 2019 at 07:30am

July 08, 2019 at 07:30 am | Opinions & Features

Adom Tabbey-Botchwey

Adom Tabbey-Botchwey | Contributor

July 08, 2019 at 07:30 am | Opinions & Features

Image result for The Pelagie Islands
Pic credit: Walks of Italy

The Pelagie Islands

They are three small islands – Lampedusa, Linosa, and Lampione – located between Malta and Tunisia, in the Mediterranean Sea south of Sicily. Geographically, Lampedusa and Lampione belong to the African continent but it is now an Italian maritime hub. The administrative matters of the islands fall within one of the provinces of Sicily, which is considered the southernmost part of Italy. The islands are unnaturally barren now even though fifty years ago, much of the landscape was farmland. Now, the local economy is based on fishing and tourism in Lampedusa. Not much is known of the history of the islands, only that they are known for their beautiful views and stunning beaches.

Most viewed


Must Read