Judicial wigs and four other colonial legacies Africans are upholding by choice

Nii Ntreh December 10, 2019
Image result for cfa franc
The CFA zone comprises 14 African countries. Photo Credit: Al Jazeera

The currency

Under a pre-independence accord with sub-Saharan countries in the late 1950s, France demanded that all countries that wished to be free needed to pay for the “positives” colonization had given Africans.

One of the ways colonized Africans were “offered” their freedom was a “suggestion” of a common currency zone authored by France.

Currently, 14 countries abide by the accord. They are Benin, Burkina Faso, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Mali, Niger, Senegal, Togo, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo-Brazzaville, Equatorial Guinea and Gabon.

France insists those countries that prefer to leave the CFA zone, may do so freely.


Must Read

Connect with us

Join our Mailing List to Receive Updates