These capital cities of Africa were born after independence to end the colonial order

Elizabeth Ofosuah Johnson Sep 13, 2018 at 05:00pm

September 13, 2018 at 05:00 pm | We Tour

Elizabeth Ofosuah Johnson

Elizabeth Ofosuah Johnson | Staff Writer

September 13, 2018 at 05:00 pm | We Tour


Abuja – Nigeria

On December 12, 1991, Abuja became the capital of Nigeria 32 years after its independence in 1960. The first capital of Nigeria was Lagos, but the city soon became too congested and was facing multiple problems due to its rapid development. In the 1960s, the plan was then made to construct a new capital city for the country in the inner parts of the country that could deal with development over the years.  In 1976, General Murtala Mohammed announced the final decision to move the capital city to Lagos. Construction of the new city started in the late 70s and was completed in the late 80s. The city was inspired by the plan used to construct Brasilia, the capital of Brazil.

Most viewed


Must Read