Advertisement
Advertisement

Award-winning Nigerian actress makes Vogue cover

March 14, 2019 at 03:00 pm | Entertainment

Elizabeth Ofosuah Johnson

Elizabeth Ofosuah Johnson | Staff Writer

March 14, 2019 at 03:00 pm | Entertainment

It isn’t every time we have an African featured in global top-notch magazines talk less star on the cover of them and that is why the appearance of one of Nigeria’s finest actresses, Adesua Etomi Wellington, on Vogue’s April issue is a big deal.

The beautiful actress took to her Instagram to share the exciting news a few minutes after Vogue released the cover and snippet videos of the April issue which has been named the Global Issue.

View this post on Instagram

Nigeria to the world.?????????? Celebrate black girl MAGIC. I'm so thrilled to reveal my cover for @voguemagazine's April issue celebrating this talented group of women from across the globe. Giving a huge shout out to @jilldemling. She cast this cover and this was her last cover at Vogue before her move to @britishvogue. Tons of love Jill. ? 14 global superstars were chosen: Angelababy (@angelababyct), Doona Bae (@doonabae), #ElizabethDebicki, Golshifteh Farahani (@golfarahani), #LivLisaFries, Eiza Gonzalez (@eizagonzalez), Hera Hilmar (@herahilmar), #ScarlettJohansson, Vanessa Kirby (@vanessa__kirby), Bruna Marquezine (@brunamarquezine), Deepika Padukone (@deepikapadukone), #AlbaRohrwacher and Lea Seydoux (@leaseydoux_genuine). Tap the link in my bio to read the stories and see the full spread. Photographer: Mikael Jansson / @mikaeljansson Stylist: Camilla Nickerson My Makeup: Otito Ibeleme / @t.alamodebeauty Hannah Murray / @hannah_murray1 Hair headpieces: Julien d’Ys for Julien d’Ys / @juliendys Production: North Six and Day International / @northsixproductions and @dayinternational Florals: Michael George / @michaelgeorgeflowers Written by Gaby Wood, Vogue, April 2019.

A post shared by Adesua Etomi-Wellington (@adesuaetomi) on

Dubbed A Celebration of Global Talent, the April issue highlights 14 superstars from 14 countries who ‘Know no Limits’. The 14 women are each given a spread in the magazine granting interviews that delve into their works in the space they find themselves and how they stand out.

Photo -Adesua Etomi Instagram

In an article on Vogue, the actress is described as a third culture kid who cannot walk down the streets of Nigeria without getting mobbed especially if she is with her celebrity husband Olubankole Wellington popularly known as Banky W who recently delved into politics.

Out of the 14 global stars, Adesua Etomi was chosen along with South Korean actress Doona Bae, Iranian actress Golshifteh Farahani and Australian actress Elizabeth Debicki to cover April’s issue celebrating the groundbreaking stars the world should celebrate.

Adeusa Etomi Wellington for Vogue Magazine . Photo- Vogue

In her exclusive interview with Vogue, Adesua reveals why she moved from England to Nigeria, how she got into the industry, what it is like being married to a celebrity of her kind and the nightmares that come with being a public figure.

The Vogue cover comes in barely a month after the actress was part of the global stars nominated in the favourite African Star category for Nickelodeon Kids’ Choice Awards 2019 slated for March 23, 2019.

Adesua Etomi Wellington

Born in Nigeria, Adesua was raised and schooled in England after being taken there at a very young age. The intelligent and beautiful actress made a decision to return to her home country in 2012 after realizing her passion to use her creativity to the benefit of her home country.

She starred in her first feature film and has since captured the hearts of many by winning several awards and gaining over 2 million followers on Instagram alone.

Image result for adesua etomi
Adesua Etomi and husband ( Banky W)

Between her successful movie career and most talked about wedding in 2017, Adesua has managed to remain relevant in the industry due to her humble and honest nature that appeals to many.

Most viewed

Conversations

Must Read