CAF Awards: Big win for Nigeria as Asisat Oshoala, Victor Osimhen become African Footballers of the Year

Stephen Nartey December 12, 2023
Photo: Twitter/CAF

Nigerian players Asisat Oshoala and Victor Osimhen have been named African Footballers of the Year at the CAF Awards in Marrakech, Morocco. The event marked the culmination of the African football season in 2023, recognizing outstanding individuals and teams from the continent.

Oshoala secured her sixth win in the women’s category, while Victor Osimhen earned his first honor, becoming the first Nigerian man since Nwankwo Kanu in 1999 to do so. Nigeria was awarded National Team of the Year for women, and Morocco received the same recognition for the men’s team.

Some of the past winners include notable names like Abedi Pele, George Weah, Mohamed Salah, and Sadio Mané. The award, which was commissioned in 1992, has been an annual tradition, with exceptions in 2020 and 2021 due to the COVID-19 pandemic, according to

See a full list of winners below:

2023 Women’s Player of the Year – Asisat Oshoala (NGA)

2023 Men’s Player of the Year – Victor Osimhen (NGA)

2023 Women’s National Team of the Year – Nigeria

2023 Men’s National Team of the Year – Morocco

2023 Women’s Goalkeeper of the Year – Chiamaka Nnadozie (NGA)

2023 Men’s Goalkeeper of the Year – Yassine Bounou (MOR)

More awards:
2023 Men’s Coach of the Year – **Walid Regragui (MOR)
**2023 Women’s Coach of the Year – Desiree Ellis (RSA)
2023 Goal of the Year – Mahmoud Kahraba (EGY)
2023 Men’s Young Player of the Year – Lamine Camara (SEN)
2023 Women’s Young Player of the Year – Nesryne El Chad (MOR)
2023 Men’s Interclub Player of the Year – **Percy Tau
**2023 Women’s Interclub Player of the Year – Fatima Tagnaout
2023 Men’s Club of the Year – Al Ahly FC – Egypt
2023 Women’s Club of the Year – Mamelodi Sundowns – South Africa

Last Edited by:Mildred Europa Taylor Updated: December 12, 2023


Must Read

Connect with us

Join our Mailing List to Receive Updates