Entertainment May 26, 2016 at 09:00 am

EbonyLife TV’s ‘Hello Africa’ To Premier June 11

F2FA May 26, 2016 at 09:00 am

May 26, 2016 at 09:00 am | Entertainment

(From Left to Right): Thione Niang, AKON, Eunice Omole, and Samba Bathily

EbonyLife TV is launching its brand-new feature show called “Hello Africa.”

“Hello Africa” is the latest addition to EbonyLife TV’s selection of Black entertainment and lifestyle programming. Produced and hosted by Eunice Omole, an African in the diaspora and alumna of the ivy-league Columbia University, School of Journalism, she recently joined EbonyLife TV as chief strategy officer, following the footsteps of Mo Abudu, who hosts “Moments with Mo.”

Omole is also the chairwoman and CEO of EbonyLife TV. During the first season of “Hello Africa,” Omole is slated to interview guests, such as Akon, Marcus Samuelsson, Ayaan and Idyl Mohallim, Femi Kuti, Florence “DJ Cuppy” Otedola, Ivan Kagame, Kevin Olusola, Peres Owino, and more.

EbonyLife TV

(From Left to Right): Marcus Samuelsson and Eunice Omole

Omole says, “Hello Africa seeks to tell the quintessential African story through industrious, enterprising and brilliant minds that are proud of their heritage and determined to change the misconceptions of Africa and Africans around the world.”

With guests, ranging from accomplished actors to musical standouts, “Hello Africa” will offer human interest stories and discussion topics in areas, such as politics, fashion, business, news, and more. Each 30-minute episode of “Hello Africa” will highlight inspirational, successful Africans in African communities around the world.

Omole adds, “Tune into what’s going on with Africans in the diaspora as we celebrate, connect, and entertain with the latest in politics, fashion, business, news, celebrities, and more.”

EbonyLife TV is available via the DStv platform in 49 African countries, including South Africa and countries in Southern Africa. The channel is ranked as the most-watched channel within its demographic, youth, and women ages 18 to 34. Each year, EbonyLife TV offers more than 1,000 hours of original quality Anglo-African entertainment programming. Eighty percent of content offered by EbonyLife TV is exclusive to the channel, making it the largest self-owned library in Africa.

Current programming offered by EbonyLife TV includes homegrown shows in the areas of music, lifestyle, drama, film, talk, comedy, reality, sports, and more. Current programming includes “The Spot,” “EL Now,” “EL Reports,” “The Filmhouse,” “Married to the Game,” “Ay’s Crib,” “Oasis,” and more.

“Hello Africa” will air its first episode on June 11, 2016, on EbonyLife TV. Showtimes are Saturdays 8:30 p.m. WAT/9:30PM CAT, Sundays ‎7:30 p.m. WAT/8:30 p.m. CAT, Tuesdays 9:30 p.m. WAT/10:30 p.m. CAT. More information could be found at http://ebonylifetv.com.

Conversations

Must Read