Qatar World Cup: The prize money and how much African countries are spending on bonuses

Abu Mubarik November 22, 2022
Photo credit: AP via skynews

The 2022 Qatar World Cup commenced on Sunday, November 20, 2022. The world cup has always been the apex tournament when it comes to world football and countries spend fortunes to achieve success.

The Qatar world cup is arguably the most expensive, with some media reports claiming some $300 billion was spent putting up infrastructure and other facilities to host the tournament. Also, the tournament is the first to be hosted in any Arab country. The Qatari government invested billions of dollars to ensure that the world cup comes off successfully.

At the tournament, five countries are representing Africa. Of the five, three are from Sub-saharan Africa. The participating African countries are Ghana, Senegal, Cameroon, Tunisia and Morocco. 

Just how much are these countries spending on bonuses in Qatar?

Ghana: Ghana’s Black Stars are going into the tournament with a budget of $15 million. Each Black Stars player will receive a winning bonus of $15,000 in the group stage. Also, each player will receive an appearance fee amounting to $75,000.

Senegal: According to ACL Sports, Senegal announced $2 million for world cup bonuses. The platform added that each of the 23 players to be selected for the tournament will be entitled to $38,000, the same amount for each member of the technical staff.

Cameroon: Journalducameroon reports that the Cameroonian national team was allocated a budget of FCFA 8.4 billion, which amounts to $13 million.

How much are the participating teams getting from the tournament?

The prize money for each team depends on where they finish in the tournament. However, FIFA will give $440 million to the 32 national teams.

The 16 teams that will be eliminated at the group stage will get $9 million each. Teams that will be knocked out in the round of 16 will get $13 million each. 

According to FIFA, the semi-finalists will be entitled to an endowment of 25 million dollars for the fourth in the golden square and 27 million dollars for the third.

The runner-up will get $39 million while the winner gets $42 million. 

Last Edited by:Mildred Europa Taylor Updated: November 22, 2022


Must Read

Connect with us

Join our Mailing List to Receive Updates