All about the money: Modern African currencies no longer in use

Nduta Waweru May 12, 2018

Photo: Banknote Index

Zambian Pound

Before it started using the Kwacha, Zambia used the Zambian pound, which replaced the  Rhodesia and Nyasaland pound.  The banknotes were available in denominations of 10 shillings, 1 and 5 pounds and the coins in denominations of 6 pence, 1 and 2 shilling in 1964, 5 Shillings in 1965, and 1 penny coins in 1966.

The Kwacha was introduced in 1968 after the decimalization of the Zambian pound.


Must Read

Connect with us

Join our Mailing List to Receive Updates