All about the money: Modern African currencies no longer in use

Nduta Waweru May 12, 2018

Photo: Numismondo

Gambian Pound

In 1965, Gambia replaced the British West African pound with the Gambian pound.  The banknotes were introduced in denominations of 10 shillings, 1 and 5 pounds, with the coins coming in on February 1966 in denominations of 1, 3 and 6 pence, 1, 2 and 4 shillings. An  8-shillings coin was introduced in 1970.

In 1971 when the Central Bank of The Gambia replaced the Gambia Currency Board, a new currency, the dalasi was introduced.


Must Read

Connect with us

Join our Mailing List to Receive Updates