UK names new scholarship for young people in former colonies

Mildred Europa Taylor April 17, 2018
Prince Harry at the Commonwealth Youth Forum in London

The Commonwealth scholarships, since 1959 have produced over 80,000 graduates with many of them returning home to contribute towards the development of their countries of origin.

This is sure to improve as the United Kingdom has announced a new scholarship scheme for young people from The Commonwealth to enable them to study in low and middle-income countries.

Prince Henry of Wales, popularly known as Prince Harry, disclosed this while speaking at the opening session of the Commonwealth Youth Forum at the Queen Elizabeth II centre in London.

According to him, the scholarship was named after Queen Elizabeth II and would be funded with the additional £5 million ($7,157,990) provided by the UK government for the Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan, CSFP.

“I am delighted to announce that the Commonwealth Scholarship Scheme will be expanded until 2019, thanks to the generosity of the United Kingdom and other countries.

“(New) 150 scholarships for study in low or middle-income countries will be made available by 2025. This scheme, which is run by Association of Commonwealth Universities, will enable more of our talented young people to access life-changing opportunities to study across the Commonwealth for generations to come.

“In recognition of her Majesty, the Queen, these scholarships will be known as Queen Elizabeth Scholarships,” the Prince who is now the Commonwealth Youth Ambassador was quoted by news site The Vanguard.

The Commonwealth Scholarships which are open to citizens of the Commonwealth are targeted at individuals who have intellectual ability, the leadership potential and are also committed to development.

The scheme enables participants to study in other Commonwealth countries and through that, they are able to improve their skills and network with other people for the ultimate benefit of their home countries.

Countries like Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Ghana, and Zambia have already benefitted from the scheme.

Last Edited by:Ismail Akwei Updated: April 17, 2018


Must Read

Connect with us

Join our Mailing List to Receive Updates