History July 13, 2017 at 03:00 pm

3 African Sites Added to UNESCO’s ‘World Heritage’ List

Fredrick Ngugi | Contributor

Fredrick Ngugi July 13, 2017 at 03:00 pm

July 13, 2017 at 03:00 pm | History

The San People living in the Khomani Cultural Landscape in South Africa. Photo credit: Pinterest

The World Heritage Committee has announced the addition of three major African cultural sites on UNESCO’s “World Heritage List,” with Eritrea and Angola making their first entries to the list.

The committee, which made the announcement Saturday, is mandated to identify, catalog, and preserve sites of outstanding importance — either cultural or natural — to the common heritage of humanity.

Chaired by its founder and the director of the International Cultural Center Jacek Purchla, the committee met for its 41st session in Krakow, Poland.

Here Face2Face Africa takes a look at the three new African sites in the order of inscription.



Must Read