BY Sandra Appiah, 12:00am October 17, 2012,

No Winner for the 2012 ($5m) Ibrahim Prize for Good Governance in Africa

No Winner for the 2012 ($5m) Ibrahim Prize for Good Governance in Africa

Earlier this month, the Mo Ibrahim Foundation, whose mission is to support good governance in Africa, announced that it will be giving a special one-off extraordinary award to Archbishop Desmond Tutu of South Africa during this year’s Ibrahim Discussion Forum in recognition of his “lifelong commitment to speaking the truth.”

The recipient of the Ibrahim award, which is given to an African head of State, was supposed to be announced on October 15th. However, in a statement issued by the foundation on Monday, there will be no winner for this prize this year due to the lack of deserving candidates. Simply put, the foundation says it cannot find a good enough leader to win what is considered "the world’s most valuable individual prize for good governance in Africa."

The Prize is an annual US$5 million award paid over 10 years and US$200,000 annually for life thereafter. It has been established to recognize and celebrate excellence in African leadership, and to provide Laureates with the opportunity to pursue their commitment to the African continent once they have stepped down from office. It is awarded to a democratically elected former African Executive Head of State or Government who has left office in the previous three years; served her/his constitutionally mandated term; and demonstrated excellence in office.

Last year, the Prize was awarded to President Pedro Verona Pires of Cape Verde for his "vision in No Winner for the 2012 ($5m) Ibrahim Prize for Good Governance in Africatransforming Cape Verde into a model of democracy, stability and increased prosperity."

“The Prize Committee reviewed a number of eligible candidates but none met the criteria needed to win this Award. The Award is about excellence in leadership. In the first six years the Prize Committee has selected three very worthy Laureates who continue to be an inspiration and whose examples, we hope, will be emulated." Said, the prize committee.

Does this decision call for an alarm? What does the lack of a "deserving candidate" for this year say about the leaders and governance in Africa? Share your thoughts.

Last Edited by: Updated: June 19, 2018


Must Read

Connect with us

Join our Mailing List to Receive Updates