[Today in History] Capital city of Liberia, Monrovia, named after U.S. president

Francis Akhalbey April 25, 2018
Monrovia -- Photo Credit: jbdodane (Flickr)

On this day in 1822, the capital city of Liberia, Monrovia was established by the American Colonization Society, a group which advocated for the permanent migration of freed African-American slaves to Africa.

Initially known as Christopolis, the city was renamed Monrovia after ex U.S. President James Monroe who was an ardent supporter of the American Colonization Society.

At the time of its establishment, the settlers in Monrovia were mainly freed African-American slaves who later on became known as Americo-Liberians.

Somewhere around the twentieth century, the city was divided into two parts namely Monrovia proper, which was inhabited by the Americo-Liberian population and Krutown, which was inhabited by the native Krus, Grebos, Bassas and other local ethnic groups.

[Today in History] Capital city of Liberia, Monrovia, named after U.S. president

Monrovia in the 19th century.

The city served as the venue for the drafting of Liberia’s constitution by the American Colonization Society in 1845.

Liberia was governed by the Americo-Liberian settlers up until April 12, 1980, when Master Sergeant Samuel Doe, an indigenous Liberian and member of the Liberian Armed Forces led a military coup against the government of then-president William Tolbert.

Last Edited by:Ismail Akwei Updated: April 25, 2018


Must Read

Connect with us

Join our Mailing List to Receive Updates